West of Tennessee River Military Patents

‚ÄčThe sourthern portion of the area known as the Jackson Purchase in western Kentucky was acquired under the October 19, 1818, land treaty between the United States and the Chickasaw Indian Nation. General Andrew Jackson and Gov. Isaac Shelby represented the United States in the negotiations, and chiefs and warriors, including Levi and George Colbert, Chinubby (the Boy King) and Tishomingo, represented the Chickasaw Tribes. In return for relinquishment of all lands east of the Mississippi River and north of the Mississippi state line, the Chickasaws received $300,000 at the rate of $20,000 annually for 15 years.

Located west of the Tennessee River and east of the Mississippi River, the Jackson Purchase came into the Commonwealth as an extension of Christian County with Old Wadesboro designated as its capital and land office. Over time, the area was divided into counties, and it now consists of Hickman, Calloway, Graves, McCracken, Marshall, Bullard, Fulton and Carlisle counties.

A number of Revolutionary War soldiers occupied the Jackson purchase prior to the treaty. On December 26, 1820, the Kentucky General Assembly approved legislation for the "surveying of military claims west of the Tennessee River" and for the establishment of a town at Iron Banks. The 242 patents in this database were authorized by entries filed with the Military Surveyor prior to May 1, 1792. While military patents were being issued, the Jackson Purchase was mapped by William T. Henderson under mapping guidelines for public lands, i.e., ranges, townships and sections. The 9,308 West of the Tennessee River Non-Military patents are available on this website and in the Kentucky Land Office.

For more information about the West of Tennessee River Military Patents Series, please consult the frequently asked questions or contact the Land Office at (502) 564-3490 or via email.