West of Tennessee River Non-Military

​In 1818 the Chickasaw Indian Nation signed a treaty relinquishing to the United States all lands east of the Mississippi River and north of the Mississippi state line. The U.S. Senate ratified the treaty on January 7, 1819. The state of Kentucky was enlarged by approximately 2,000 square miles from the Tennessee River westward to the Mississippi River. The area is known as the Jackson Purchase.

The Kentucky General Assembly established two patent series for the Jackson Purchase: the West of Tennessee River Military and the West of Tennessee Non-Military Patents. Legislation regarding the mlitary patent series are also available online.

Disclaimer: The text of these Acts was entered manually; researchers should consult the published versions of the Virginia and Kentucky Acts for official use. Those Acts can be researched at the Kentucky History Center Library, the Department for Libraries and Archives, and the Supreme Court Law Library, all in Frankfort. Enrolled Bills and Governor's Journals (1792-1927) are available on microfilm at the Department for Libraries and Archives.